## **Town Meeting Study Committee Minutes**

## 5/23/2018

Committee In Attendance: Beth Murphy, Erin Underhill, Jim McCaffrey, Jim Angelo, Craig Schultze

Others In Attendance: Nancy Sitta, Rick Neves

Not In Attendance: Mark Conroy, Mary Russo

- Call to order @ 7:30pm
  - o Discussion of Spring TM
  - Some ideas for speeding things up
- Review of Medway process -
  - Medway is short, very little discussion, actual motion is in the book
  - Younger crowd with children
  - o Consent Articles for mandatory items... Audit, Medicaid, leases, etc.
- Re-Organization
  - New Chair will be determined by next meeting, Erin to continue tonight
- Topic: Town Meeting and Technology/ Electronic voting -
  - See handout from Erin Wayland
  - Manchester by The Sea also uses the handsets
    - Can elected officials votes be public no, they must be the same system as everyone else.
    - Options Technology in Florida.
    - 200 handsets, \$15,000 for both meetings.
    - Vote every three years to allow electronic voting.
  - o Committee split on the need for electronic voting...
    - Cost and tradition vs privacy
    - Courage of conviction vs encouraging everyone to vote
  - o Do we have secret ballot for all articles, some articles, or when requested.
  - Ten citizens of Millis can bring a by law to require secret ballot.
- Timing issues... how do we remain respectful of everyone's time?

- Discussion of how to balance the need for community participation in TM (with the tradition of open discussion and public votes) with the fact that some feel intimidated and fear the loss of friends or business if they speak out and want to require a secret ballot. There was discussion regarding if we move to secret ballots, do we diminish the history and culture of Town Meeting.
- Next Meeting Dates and Topics -
  - Prepare last three sets of minutes.
  - o Prepare a list of recommendations based on minutes
  - o Break list into areas
- Next meeting on June 5<sup>th</sup> & June 20<sup>th</sup>
- Adjournment 8:45 pm motion by C. Schultze, second by J. McCaffrey. Passed unanimously.
- Adjournment 8:45 pm motion by C. Schultze, second by J. McCaffrey. Passed Unanimously.